Kachori


I like it when I find something new in the supermarket aisles. I discovered puff pastry when walking through the butter section. I had no idea as to how it is used, still I popped it in my shopping trolley. A quick glance on the web to check what I could churn out of this new pack of puff pastry led to my jhatpat kachori. I dug out the frozen peas and off I went to my kitchen platform for my experiment. Believe me, they turned out to be “yum” as per my son and I made them fat free as well….baked them instead of frying them. Here’s to the sahitya of these baked kachories:

Puff pastry-thawed if frozen.

Green peas-1 cup

Ginger grated-1 tsp

Green chillies- a couple, finely chopped.

Cumin seeds- 1 tsp

turmeric-1 tsp

asafoetida- a pinch.

Fresh Coriander finely chopped- as much you as like.

Dessicated coconut- 1 table spoon.

Fresh lime juice- 1 tsp

Red chilli powder and salt as per your likings.

I had stuffed paratha masala, but no worries Garam masala will do. Any of these spice mixes- 1 tsp.

Heat oil in a pan. Add asafoetida and cumin seeds. When the cumin seeds begin to splutter, add ginger, green chillies, green peas and salt. Mix and cook. Take off the heat. Add stuffed paratha masala or garam masala powder. Mix and set aside to cool. Roll the puff pastry and use a cookie cutter or a katori to make each portion and press to make round puris. Add dessicated coconut  to the green pea mixture and mix. Stuff each puri with the stuffing and further shape into a kachori. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees C . Grease a cookie sheet/baking sheet and place the kachories. Bake for approximately 20 mins. You will notice the kachories changing into lovely golden brown colour. What are you waiting for? They are ready!!! Serve them with tamarind chutney and green chutney.

Leave a Reply

