Sinful Khari Puff


I read a quote recently”Remember the tea kettle – it is always upto it’s neck in hot water, yet it sings” That is exactly what I have gone through for the last couple of months. It was a tough time managing my commitments and keeping the heart in high spirits. Then the laptop gave in to completely shut down my connections with the blog world! I had the other gadgets in my vicinity. However, it was no fun when the tiny screens opened up only a portion of the world. ¬†Well, I am glad my laptop is back and can be with it to one happy blogger:) Do check out the kettle I have used as a prop in my photograph. I am lucky to know Surabhi from Surabhi ka Pitara. She has an amazing collection of handpainted products. Do visit her and don’t forget to order her Christmassy stuff!!khari puff

This morning, I got the news that my laptop is on the mend and will be handed over to me by the evening. That was a such a respite! On one hand I was desperate to blog post my khari puffs for bakethon and on the other hand I had so many other blogs to visit which I missed out for one reason or the other. Fingers crossed, this laptop does not go poorly again and I keep posting as many dishes as I churn in my kitchen.

This post is about the indulgent khari puffs which I had for years in India with my tea. These melt in mouth, butter snacks have been everyone’s favourite. Bought either in the bakeries in every street or even in the humble tea stalls at an bus station or train platforms.

I cheated by using a ready store bought puff pastry sheet. Since I was yearning for something spiced, I used some chopped red and green chillies and my favourite khobre-lasun chutney(dry coconut and garlic) and chopped curry leaves. You may use any herbs or spices of your choice.

Khari puff 4

For this you need:

A sheet of puff pastry

Finely chopped red and green chillies as many or as much you wish

Khobre-lasun chutney(optional) 2 tbsp

Chopped curry leaves 1 twig

Black pepper crushed 1 tbsp

Salt

Method:

Preheat oven at 180 degree.

Roll out the puff pastry. On to this spread all the ingredients enlisted and press lightly.

khari puff2

Cut into thin strips lengthwise and then cut to the size of a finger snack.

Twist each piece into a bow and lay on a greased baking tray.

khari puff 3

Bake at 18o degrees for 10 mins until lightly brown.

Enjoy these morish snacks with a piping hot tea.

This is my second post for Bakethon 2013. Do visit the other bloggers taking part in this event at Champa’s space.

One thought on “Sinful Khari Puff

Leave a Reply

