Champakali a sweet way to fight the evil on Dasshehra!


My second post this week and am feeling determined about my blog. I am so happy to see people still visiting it and love all the warm wishes and comments on Facebook pages. This Dasshehra, I refrained from making shrikhand as the family have explored all sorts of shrikhand with me recently. To name a few, we had peach shrikhand, lychee shrikhand and even chocolate shrikhand. I will be posting these recipes very soon ..remember I have a pledge to post two recipies every week. I hope I follow suit. The weather has gone chilly since last week. The drop in temperature is forcing us to decide upon hot soups, masala teas and warm spices in most of our cooking.
For Dasshehra I wished to prepare definitely something traditional, yet non-dairy. I chanced upon Champakali in Ruchira which I had eaten loads in Kolkata as a kid. ┬áThen of course I believed that it is a Bengali sweet. However, as I started exploring food, I realised it is prevalent in many other parts of India. These slit, fried puris’ coated with thick sugar syrup are absolute morish. I thought of adding my personal tweak of warm spices of cinnamon, dry ginger, nutmeg as well. Marathis’ call it Champakali. Bengalis’ call it Goja if I am not wrong.
Champakali 3

For this you will need:
1 cup of plain flour
1 tbsp of Mohan(Moin…warm oil)
1/4 tsp salt
water to knead.
Oil to fry

For the syrup: Make a thick syrup with sugar and water and keep aside.
1 cup sugar
2 cups of water

Mix all the ingredients and knead into a tight dough. Cover and keep aside for sometime. My dough rested for about 2 hours. Using a mortar and pestle, beat the dough into a smooth, pliable one.

Make small balls and roll into a regular circular puri. Using a sharp knife, make slits in the puris, making sure to keep the slits away from the edges. I tried doing a graphics for others ..I hope it is helpful.
Folding Method
Fold each puri and twist as you move to the other end of the circle. These are then twisted and joined just like buds.
Heat oil in a deep pan. Carefully release each Champakali in hot oil and fry till lightly golden brown and done. Dip each of the Champakali in sugar syrup while the syrup is still hot.

Champakali 2

Options:
You may use spices like cinnamon powder, dry ginger powder and nutmeg powder to flavour the syrup. This is what I did and it was apt for the chill which has set in England.
You may use food colour in the dough to make colourful Champakali.
For Savoury versions, you may add carrom seeds, salt and some kasuri methi. You may even replace half of plain flour with gram flour.
Champakali

8 thoughts on “Champakali a sweet way to fight the evil on Dasshehra!

  1. Thank you for visiting and leaving such a sweet comment Preeti. I have the weakest knees for desserts and love making and creating them. These Champakalis look awesome and are on my must try list now :) Amazing shots.

  2. hey Preeti ! what a cute name ! Champakali ! I love the beautiful slate and drawing it reminds me of home , Diwali and all things warm, religious,fun and familiar ! fanstastic job on this post !Keep them coming girl !

Leave a Reply

