Kajuchi Usal: Cashew Curry for National Curry Week


This post comes from Isingcakes after possibly a break of 5 months. Yes, it was a long break. A break for special reason and am glad I did. My in-laws were here visiting us. We spent time at home and moved around to few places with them. Loads of things have been happening both at work and home during this period. I have stepped back into dancing and am practicing regularly with our Virangula Art group set up in our city. It is an amazing feeling to be able to perform with the same agility I did years ago. Very soon we are planning Diwali Snehmelava for the community. Although my blog had been slightly ignored yet I was polishing my photography skills during this time. Bloggers’ Buzz have started an amateur photography group helping each other under the guidance of our talented blogger Nisha who blogs at My Kitchen antics. I have also managed collecting loads of photography props much to my husband’s annoyance!! This has been giving me a kind of a relief that I am not ignoring my blog totally!!
National Curry week has actually boosted me to blog post after this very long break. I am posting Kamalabai Ogale’s Kajuchi Usal(Cashew Curry) for the same.Kaju usal
This recipe requires fresh and wet cashews, which are available in the coastal regions of Maharashtra. I have prepared this curry with soaked cashews we get regularly at any store. The cashews were soaking for about 2-3 hours. You will need:
250g cashews wet or dry
2 cups of freshly scraped coconut
1 tbsp poppy seeds
2-3 cloves
4-5 peppercorns
a small piece of nutmeg
an inch of cinnamon stick
4 green chillies
for tempering you will need mustard seeds, turmeric, hing(asoefoetida) and ghee
For garnishing you will need chopped coriander and some grated coconut.
Salt to taste

Method:
Dry roast all the dry spices separately. Grind them with coconut scraped. Add in water if you need to. Leave the masala aside. In a pan, prepare the tempering with ghee, hing and turmeric. Add in the cashews and stir. To this add about half a cup of water, cover and cook for about 3-5 mins. To this add the fresh masala prepared earlier. Add in salt and cover to cook till the cashews are soft. When done serve garnished with chopped coriander and scraped coconut. This is divine when served with chapatis’
Kaju usal 2

3 thoughts on “Kajuchi Usal: Cashew Curry for National Curry Week

Leave a Reply

