Suji/Rava Cake with mincemeat


I remember my aji(granny) mention about ravyacha cake when I was a kid. I however, never made any attempt to ask more about ask how it was made or what was the taste like. But ever since, I am going through Kamalabai Ogale’s Ruchira book, I was waiting for the right opportunity to bake one of her bakes…ravyacha cake. I added a tablepoon of mincemeat which the kids had made at home couple of days back. The original recipe asks for 1.5 cups of semolina, however, I used  equal quantities of all the ingredients.  The cake turned out to be very soft and moist, sweet yes, next time I plan to reduce it’s sugar quantity because mincemeat added an extra sweet taste too!!

DSC_0001

So here we go, I used…

Semolina

Curds/Yoghurt

Milk

Sugar

I used 1/4 cup of each of the ingredients mentioned above.

¼ tsp of baking powder

¼ tsp of baking soda

Mincemeat/ candied peels 1 tbsp

DSC_0002

Mix in all the ingredients but the raising agents. Beat well and cover. Set it aside for couple of hours. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees. To the mix add in the raising agents. Mix well. Place this mixture in a greased cake tin and bake till golden brown.

DSC_0002

When done, transfer on a cooling rack after 10 mins. This is my last but one post for Bakethon. Check out the other bakers in bakethon: Champa, Srivalli, Priya, Sumana, Veena and Jayshree.

3 thoughts on “Suji/Rava Cake with mincemeat

Leave a Reply

