Chickpea-Sesame cookies


Last night, as I lay in my bed, I was thinking about the next post in Bakethon. I did not wish to bake any cake or bread instead something different and smaller in quantity. Just as I decided not to think about it till I was back from work, my husband quipped”what about Til-gul”(sesame and jaggery which is eaten in a form of vadi/bars!! I said” of course, I will make them, but for Sankranti”..to this he replied, no bake them!! I just chuckled and said”how could you bake sesame and jaggery together, it needs some medium to combine?” but before, I could get any solution to this, all I heard was snoring!!:)

However, this combination kept bothering me through out the day. My mind was trying to encorporate these two ingredients in various media(flour) to create something edible! I tried thinking of plain flour, semolina and chickpea flour. I am tired of the white flour to the limits! Recently, I had made Kamalabai Ogale’s semolina cookies, this time, I wished to use chickpea flour all on it’s own. I kept my fingers crossed as the small cookie dough, rose, swelled, spread and baked in the oven!! I just wished they came off well..To avoid any calamity in the kitchen, I used soft brown sugar instead of jaggery. Yes, they did..I just loved the sweet nutty flavour of besan in combination of soft brown sugar and sesame seeds.  I wish, I had encorporated some crushed sesame too!! There is always a next time right? If you do that, please let me know how they taste:)

This is how I put these ingredients together:

Image

1 cup Chickpea flour

3/4 cup soft brown sugar

1/4 cup butter

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

Sesame seeds a tablespoon to sprinkle on top

Image

Mix all the ingredients(apart from the sesame seeds) in a bowl. Roll into small sized balls and place on greased baking sheet. Sprinkle and press the sesame seeds on top of each ball. One point to note here is to place the dough at a distance from the others as these cookies spread all around.

Bake in a preheated oven at 150 degrees for 15 minutes. These are soft when baked, but as soon as the colour changes, these need to be taken out. After cooling these cookies get their crunch!!

Meet the other bakethon bakers Champa, Priya, Srivalli, Sumana, Jayshree and Veena.

3 thoughts on “Chickpea-Sesame cookies

  1. OMG, I am glad you tried it out, this is something very different..I have been bored with the white flour cookies all the while and then those wheat flour ones took forever to bake!…this is cool..

Leave a Reply

